Entertainment Post

From Gorillaz to Shame: The Best New Music Releases of the Week According to Pitchfork


Finding something to listen to among the countless new releases each week can be overwhelming as music streaming services continue to dominate the way we consume music. Fortunately, this list provides a helpful weekly overview of the most important new releases in the sector.

The new releases from this week span a wide variety of genres and include a wide range of artists. The seventh studio album from Gorillaz, the electronic duo formed by musician Damon Albarn and visual artist Jamie Hewlett, is titled “Meanwhile” and features contributions from artists like Elton John and Robert Smith.

Model/Actriz, a New York City-based experimental duo, released their first record, “Defeatist. Rapper Maxo released “Smile,” a new album that includes cameos from Pink Siifu and Earl Sweatshirt.

Other notable releases this week include post-punk band Shame’s ‘Drunk Tank Pink’, electronic musician Yeat’s ‘You Will Learn To Suffer But Then You Can Cope’ and R&B singer Tink’s ‘Heat of the Moment “And so on. Also, her classical pianist Katrina Klimsky released the album Ariel’s Piano, and her experimental jazz trio The Necks released her 22nd album Three. 

Electronic music lovers should also listen to Sideshow’s “The Moon,” which combines ambient, techno, and house music elements to produce an otherworldly listening experience.

It’s simple to get overwhelmed by the amount of new music that is released each week. However, fans can find intriguing new musicians and albums that they might have otherwise missed with the help of Pitchfork.

Food for Worms [Dead Oceans] by Shame

UK post-punk band Shame has released their latest album, Food for Worms, as a follow-up to their critically acclaimed 2021 album Drunk Tank Pink. The album was recorded live with producer Flood, who is known for his work with iconic artists like Nick Cave, U2, and PJ Harvey.

Food for Worms has been receiving positive reviews from critics, with journalist Zach Schonfeld praising the album’s “rousing, communal spirit that melts shards of icy post-punk into warmer forms.” The album showcases Shame’s signature blend of angular guitar riffs, propulsive rhythms, and frontman Charlie Steen’s impassioned vocals.

Tracks like “Human, for a Minute” and “Snow Day” feature dynamic instrumentation and introspective lyrics, while “6/1” and “Nigel Hitter” offer a more aggressive and frenetic sound. The album’s standout track, “Born in Luton,” is a scathing critique of the British class system, with Steen delivering searing lyrics over a driving bassline and jagged guitar riff.

Read also: Eminem’s Intellectual Property Rights at Center of Dispute Over The Real Housewives of Potomac’s “Reasonably Shady” Brand Name

AftërLyfe [Field Trip/Geffen] by Yeat

Portland-based rapper Yeat has returned with his latest project, AfterLyfë, following the success of his highly acclaimed 2021 album, Lyfë. The 22-track project features collaborations with artists such as YoungBoy Never Broke Again, Kranky Kranky, and Luh Geeky.

Yeat has been making waves in the hip-hop scene, amassing a dedicated following and gaining a million followers in just a month. His unique style, which blends trap beats with emo rap influences, has resonated with fans and critics alike. Yeat’s music often deals with themes of love, heartbreak, and self-reflection, which has further endeared him to his fans.

AfterLyfë builds on Yeat’s signature sound, showcasing his growth as an artist while staying true to his roots. The album features a range of styles, from the introspective “Wasteland” to the high-energy “4/4 Freestyle.” The collaborations on the album add depth and variety to the project, with YoungBoy Never Broke Again bringing his trademark southern drawl to the track “Pain.”

Cracker Island [Warner] by Gorillaz

Gorillaz have been making waves in the music scene for years, with their animated band members and innovative sound. And with their latest album, Cracker Island, they show no signs of slowing down.

Featuring collaborations with the likes of Bad Bunny, Thundercat, Stevie Nicks, and Tame Impala, Cracker Island offers a diverse range of musical styles and influences. Damon Albarn, the mastermind behind the animated band, sticks to his signature pop melodies and hip-hop touches, while bringing in returning collaborators like Beck and the Pharcyde’s Bootie Brown.

“Cracker Island leans on classic Gorillaz tropes: a handful of attention-grabbing features, a touch of hip-hop, a splash of dub, and great big helpings of Damon Albarn’s big-hearted melodies to bathe the record in misty sunshine,” says Ben Cardew in his review of the album for Pitchfork.

But Cracker Island is more than just a collection of catchy songs. Albarn uses the album to address important issues such as climate change and the refugee crisis, while also exploring themes of isolation and longing.

Dogsbody [True Panther] by Model/Actriz

Brooklyn-based band Model/Actriz has been making waves with their debut album, Dogsbody, which infuses busy, tense rock songs with an eclectic mix of cultural references. Bandleader Cole Haden’s love for Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical Cats is evident in the album’s sound, which offers a unique blend of popular culture, high art, and suburban living.

Released in 2022, Dogsbody features ten tracks that showcase the band’s ability to create music that is both urgent and introspective. From the opening track, “Dress Rehearsal,” to the closing track, “All in a Day’s Work,” the album takes listeners on a journey through Haden’s encounters and observations of the world around him.

The album’s lead single, “Amaranth,” is a standout track that showcases the band’s ability to blend different genres and styles seamlessly. The song’s driving rhythm and infectious melody are complemented by Haden’s introspective lyrics, which touch on themes of isolation and self-doubt.

Read also: Skrillex Returns with “Quest for Fire” – His Second Solo Studio Album

Even God Has a Sense of Humor [Def Jam] by Maxo

Maxo, the Los Angeles-based rapper, released his latest full-length album titled “Even God Has a Sense of Humor” on his 28th birthday this week. This album is a follow-up to his 2019 release, “Lil Big Man”. Maxo’s latest album features collaborations from talented artists such as Madlib, Pink Siifu, Liv.e, KeiyaA, and many more.

One of the singles from the album, “Free!”, has been receiving great reviews and has been featured on Pitchfork. The track features an upbeat and catchy instrumental, layered with Maxo’s quick and witty wordplay. The production of the song is credited to Brooklyn-based producer Sporting Life, who is known for his unique and experimental sound.

“Free!” talks about Maxo’s aspirations and his journey towards achieving his goals. He emphasizes the importance of self-belief, hard work, and the power of faith. Maxo’s lyrics are honest and relatable, making it easy for listeners to connect with his message.

Maxo’s latest album is a testament to his growth as an artist. It showcases his versatility and his ability to experiment with different sounds and styles. 

Even God Has a Sense of Humor is a highly anticipated release and has already received great reviews from fans and critics alike. With this album, Maxo has cemented his position as one of the most exciting and promising rappers in the game.

Photo: Pitchfork

Opinions expressed by The Meta Magazine contributors are their own.